Our People

We enjoy strong participation from high-level photographers, skilled computer coders, journalism faculty and students. Journalists from Africa, Latin America, Asia, Europe and North America, with an initial focus in Southern Africa and the United States, are part of our growing network.

Juliana Thornton
Juliana Thornton
Development Director
Default headshot
Yaffa Fredrick
Editorial Director
Ruona Meyer
Ruona Meyer
Social Media Director
Jon Lowenstein
Jon Lowenstein
Innovation Director
Jeff Kelly Lowenstein
Jeff Kelly Lowenstein
Executive Director
Raymond Joseph
Ray Joseph
Southern Africa Hub Leader
Scott Lewis
Scott Lewis
Visual Editor
Default headshot
Kate Chieco
Strategic Consultant
Default headshot
Adi Eyal
Data Science Editor
John Myers
John L. Myers
Designer / Developer

Other CCIJ Members

Paul David Schaeffer

Paul, is a business strategist with 25 years of senior experience in the investment management and financial services industry, is a member of CCIJ’s Board of Directors.

Brant Houston

Brant Houston, who served more than 10 years as the executive director for IRE and now teaches at the University of Illinois, is a member of CCIJ’s Board of Directors.

Motunrayo Alaka

A CCIJ board member, Motunrayo has 15 years experience designing strategies for impact and social justice that enable investigative reporting, media sustainability, leadership and good governance across all genres of the media.

Cheryl W. Thompson

Cheryl, an award-winning investigative correspondent for NPR who teaches investigative reporting at George Washington University, serves on CCIJ’s Board of Directors.

Anton Harber

Anton, who holds the Caxton Chair of Journalism and is Adjunct Professor at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, serves on CCIJ’s Board of Directors.

Atokhon Ganiev

Atokhon, an investigative journalist based in Tajikistan, collaborates extensively with international media and writes about corruption, economics, the environment and gender issues.

David Dembélé

David is a Mali-based investigative journalist who has worked on a number of major collaborative investigative efforts, including the Panama Papers, Swissleaks and CCIJ’s own Gaming the Lottery project.

Adie Vanessa Offiong

Vanessa is an award-winning journalist in Abuja, Nigeria and a member of the African Investigative Publishing Collective.

Monica Eng

Monica Eng is a veteran Chicago reporter who is now at WBEZ Chicago Public Media.

Jorge Luis Sierra

Jorge is an expert on cyber security and has focused on the intersection of digital security, technology and investigative journalism.

Jenipher Chagwanda

Jenipher Chagwanda is a Malawian Journalist with seven years experience in multimedia production.

Wendy Muperi

Wendy Muperi is a Zimbabwean journalist with seven years’ experience. She has covered politics, economic and social issues for local and international media.

Sonja Smith

Smith’s hard-hitting stories hold power to account. She is driven by her desire to expose corruption and influence the narrative and debates in Namibia, the region and continent.

Winston Mwale

Trained in human rights reporting by Canada-based Journalists for Human Rights and in investigative journalism by Reuters Thomson Foundation, Winston now specializes in investigative and solutions journalism.

John Bartlett

John Bartlett is a British freelance journalist writing on the politics, cultures and histories of Latin America from Santiago, Chile.