Our People

We are an international community of independent journalists, photojournalists, designers, data scientists, faculty and students representing Africa, Latin America, Asia, Europe and North America.

Leadership Team

Jeff Kelly Lowenstein

Founder & Executive Director

Jillian Dudziak

Design Director

Hassel Fallas, Data Science Editor

Hassel Fallas

Data Editor

Yaffa Fredrick

Editorial Director

Photo portrait of Esther Hurh

Esther Hurh

Program & Operations Manager

Photo portrait of Scott Lewis

Scott Lewis

Creative Director &
Business Development Lead

Lydia Namubiru

Africa Editor

Juliana Thornton

Juliana Thornton

Development Director

Board of Directors

Paul Schaeffer

Paul David Schaeffer

Paul, a business strategist with 25 years of senior experience in the investment management and financial services industry, is a member of CCIJ’s Board of Directors.

Brant Houston

Brant Houston

Brant Houston, who served more than 10 years as the executive director for IRE and now teaches at the University of Illinois, is a member of CCIJ’s Board of Directors.

Cheryl Thompson

Cheryl W. Thompson

Cheryl, an award-winning investigative correspondent for NPR who teaches investigative reporting at George Washington University, serves on CCIJ’s Board of Directors.

Anton Harber

Anton Harber

Anton, who holds the Caxton Chair of Journalism and is Adjunct Professor at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, serves on CCIJ’s Board of Directors.

Motunrayo Alaka

Motunrayo Alaka

A CCIJ board member, Motunrayo has 15 years experience designing strategies for impact and social justice that enable investigative reporting, media sustainability, leadership and good governance across all genres of the media.

Member profiles coming soon!